National Certificate Vocational (NCV)

These qualifications are designed to provide both theory and practical in each field of study.  The practical component of study may be offered in a real workplace environment or in a simulated workplace environment.  It will provide students with an opportunity to experience work situations during the period of study.

In order to obtain a National Certificate (Vocational), a student is required to study a total of 7 subjects.

These include the 3 fundamental subjects and 4 vocational subjects, of which 3 are compulsory and 1 is optional.  Fundamental Subjects are to be found in all fields of study and consists of:

  • English – which is the language of teaching and learning
  • Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy
  • Life Orientation

Vocational Subjects.  This consists of 4 subjects, three of which are compulsory and one optional.  These subjects define the specific type or field of study.  Refer to the various fields for their specific vocational subjects.

What are the minimum entry requirements to the qualification?

For entry into the National Certificate Vocational at NQF Level 2, you require:

  • A year end school report for Grade 9 or higher, or
  • An NQF Level 1 qualification, or
  • An approved bridging programme designed for the specific purpose to access NQF Level 2, or
  • A Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) assessment to meet the basic requirements for access to NQF Level 2.

What is the duration of this qualification?

The National Certificate (Vocational) qualification is a full year programme at each of the NQF levels of study. A student is issued with a certificate on successful completion of study. Ideally students should complete all three levels and thereby complete the full level 4 qualification.